Oregon News

OR DMV: How to reinstate your suspended driver’s license under Governor Kotek’s fee remission orders

Contact: Michelle Godfrey, PIO for DMV, 503-945-5270, [email protected]

Elisabeth Shepard, Press Secretary to Governor Kotek [email protected]

Dec. 4, 2023

Salem, Ore. – Thousands of Oregonians who have their driver’s licenses suspended following traffic violations are now eligible to have their driving privileges reinstated. In her order Dec. 1, Governor Tina Kotek forgave unpaid fines and fees for drivers who have traffic violations resulting from failure to comply or appear in court.

Am I eligible to reinstate my suspended license?  

Governor Kotek posted a list of eligible cases. This is in addition to cases eligible for fee remission under Governor Brown’s 2022 order, here:  Governor Brown’s Remission Order and List of CasesCheck both lists for your name to see if you are eligible.

Working from the lists of eligible cases, Oregon courts will send DMV a notice of clearance of your suspension. Once DMV records the court notice, you can begin the process of reinstating your driving privileges.

What do I need to do? 

Do not drive until DMV has reinstated your driving privileges and you have gotten a valid driver’s license.

  1. Check to see if your name is on one of the lists linked above.
  2. Find out if DMV recorded a notice of court clearance for your case(s). You can check your status online by logging into DMV2U or you can call DMV Customer Assistance at 503-945-5000.
    1. A standing of Eligible to Reinstate on your DMV record means that we have received and recorded all required notice(s) of court clearance.
    2. If your DMV record shows your license is Suspended, it means we have not yet recorded all notice(s) of court clearance. You may need to wait a few weeks for the notice to be issued by the court and processed by DMV.
    3. You may contact the court directly to inquire about the status of your case. Have your Docket Number, and Suspension Type (FTA or FTC).
  3. Reinstate your right to apply for driving privileges by paying the $75 reinstatement fee ($85 starting Jan. 1). You may pay the reinstatement fee online at DMV2U or in a DMV office. Your driver’s license standing will change to ValidEligible, or
  4. You may renew or replace your license online at DMV2U or in a DMV office once your driver’s license standing is ValidEligible, or Expired.

For more information, read Governor Kotek’s FAQ on fee remission and visit the DMV web page for details on steps to reinstate your suspended driver’s license.

Share on your social media:

Comments are closed.

Currieco Real Estate OPEN HOUSE Oakridge Oregon
Lane County Libraries The Power of Partnership throughout Lane County Oregon

graphic: Classifieds

GARAGE SALE: Tell folks about your upcoming garage sale here.

LANDSCAPING SERVICES:  It’s that time of year.  Let everyone know what services you have to offer.

JOB OPENINGS: Need to let the community know that you need help. Post your job openings here.

 

OFFICE SERVICES AVAILABLE:  Copying, Scanning, Emailing & Faxing Services are now available at The Herald’s office in Oakridge.
CLICK HERE for details.

graphic: Classified Ad Posting is Now Available - For Sale • Help Wanted • Landscaping • Rentals • Homes for sale • Repairs • Remodeling • and More! - Post your classified ad with us today.

Follow H58H on Social Media

The calendar is temporarily disabled due to a rendering error. Please reload the page.